Return to myself

Since all the changes I’ve thought up are negative and damaging to myself and others it seems to back-up to a more reasonable self–less reactive, more directed and yes, the type of approach suggested by people at the wrong time and should have known better I should have known better.

Had my colonoscopy finally and the results show no new tumors but an increase in potentially pre-cancerous polyps that were removed in the exam. So I’m cancer free for now!

Second news is though my body seems eager to provide opportune places for cancer to make itself at home, this also means I’ll be able to get check-ups on a yearly basis and the best part of this is they will be local. The doctor who does the exams knows how the system here “works” and told me to override the main clinic’s messed up communication strategies by keeping my doctor informed of when I want her to refer him. I can’t order the tests myself but can at least participate very close to directly. Plus I get my results prior their being sent to the main clinic who take weeks to process them and don’t even bother reporting if nothing is found. Their slogan is “no news is good news” which just doesn’t work for me considering how bad the line of communication is.

Final good news. Called Alberta Health to ask about communication policies for rural patients. Described the ongoing messaging failures and how this forces patients into crisis-only care and must cost the system a fortune. Received a follow-up call the next day and will be referred to a case-manager and may also get an interview publicly with the district health advisory council.

What I found encouraging is my notion that players in the main system lack a certain imagination gene cluster was illustrated by being asked if “it didn’t make more sense for someone in my precarious health condition to move to the city where there are better services.” Alberta prides itself on celebrating the traditional values of small-town life while admitting those values are not really worth much.

But anyway it isn’t necessary to go into difficult explanations over this. The system excludes the patient by creating a dependency on members of the system to perform their job and there are no back-ups because “everybody knows” the system works because there is no monitoring–and the circle closes on itself.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thesmallc  On October 3, 2015 at 8:00 PM

    Scott, I’m very happy to hear about your health news! It looks like your medical support is transitioning/shifting a bit too which is also nice to know. I hope everything works out and you get the treatment you deserve as a patient. Glad to know you’ll be monitored yearly — although I can’t stand all the doctors’ visits, I know how important they are. Let us know how you do with Alberta Health. Good luck!

    • scottx5  On October 3, 2015 at 9:10 PM

      Thanks Rebecca. Yeah I don’t like all the medical visits though there is a feeling of comfort that comes over me at the heart institute. Could be because it was the last stop and they didn’t let me die? With the cancer people I went in feeling OK and made me very sick, kicked me around a bit and then acted like it was all my fault. They can go screw their over-special selves.
      To replace them I now have a very cool “local” Doctor (he works in a rural hospital about 2 hours away and does regular visits to our town hospital). He understands what I’ve run into with the big-shots at the Institute and will talk to my doctor to get me reliable service.
      The best thing is being able to be a complete person, even when I’m sick. The Institute never approved of me, always felt like a rat asking for special favours with them and they made sure I understood how undeserving I was. Funny, even though the cardiac people had to tie me to the bed I was so whacked out, they never seemed judgmental.
      Not sure yet what to say to Alberta Health. Don’t want things to get personal, as in “this person did that to me.” More concerned about policies that beat a person down and take their voice away. Like in your last blog, there are things to be thankful for–I found that really inspirational.

Leave a Reply

No more small talk

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.” — Joseph Campbell

Ramblings...

Conquering Kids and cancer

the best liar you know

my life with chronic illness

anotheronewiththecancer

Yes I am the Cancer Curmudgeon

DiepCjourney

Reconstructing A Purposeful Life

Debs OER Journey

A blog about my open learning experiences ... and a few other bits of ordinary life

otherplaceblog

Creativity for Learning in Higher Education

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

Almost There ... Virtually Connecting

Enhancing the virtual event experience

NomadWarMachine

Rhizomes and knitting

Should I blog?

Everything you want to know about blogging your cancer journey

Nancy's Point

A blog about breast cancer, loss & survivorship

Full Circle Associates

connections for a changing world, online and off...

Digital Writing Month

a 30-day adventure through the world of digital narrative and art

EdConteXts

International Network of Educators

BC Becky

Never thought I'd want to be identified as a breast cancer survivor …

