Some Results

Being not particularly smart at 5:30 am when we left for Edmonton we ran out of gas and were about 2 hours late to see the oncologist. (Three hour drive each way from home to the city and we are usually ready for things like gas stations on country roads being closed by always filling up. Not today). As it turns out they run a continuous intake until noon so I was fine being late–and we didn’t even have a fight in the car over whose fault it was! So that part worked out.

My CT scan shows no detectable cancer got past the tumor which is now removed. Statistically though the cancer cells may still be in there somewhere, so I get chemo for 6 months by IV. Could have had pills but they aren’t as effective. Two days every two weeks for treatment at the clinic which can be moved to a nearer one about 1 1/2 hours drive each way. This is still a sparsely populated area and that’s the closest. Our local hospital, which is 5 minutes by walking distance from my house doesn’t have enough cancer patients to warrant a clinic. Plus they are totally incompetent and a danger to healthy people. If you are sick, definitely stay away from them.

The CT also picked up a swelling in my heart at the exit of the aorta where my artificial valve is installed. This area was patched with mesh when it blew out along with my first artificial valve. Since my cardiologist knows nothing about this (nobody communicates) there has to be a consultation with her before chemo. Will also involve my colorectal surgeon, my new oncologist and my doctor. That’s 4 women “on my case” which sounds like blues classic so I think I’m safe. For now:-)

Date for things to start happening is expected to be August 11 for my IV tube to be installed. More when I find out.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

No more small talk

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.” — Joseph Campbell

Ramblings...

Conquering Kids and cancer

the best liar you know

my life with chronic illness

anotheronewiththecancer

Yes I am the Cancer Curmudgeon

DiepCjourney

Reconstructing A Purposeful Life

Debs OER Journey

A blog about my open learning experiences ... and a few other bits of ordinary life

otherplaceblog

Creativity for Learning in Higher Education

Music for Deckchairs

"In shadowy, silent distance grew the iceberg too": universities, technology, work and life

Almost There ... Virtually Connecting

Enhancing the virtual event experience

NomadWarMachine

Rhizomes and knitting

Should I blog?

Everything you want to know about blogging your cancer journey

Nancy's Point

A blog about breast cancer, loss & survivorship

Full Circle Associates

connections for a changing world, online and off...

Digital Writing Month

a 30-day adventure through the world of digital narrative and art

EdConteXts

International Network of Educators

BC Becky

Never thought I'd want to be identified as a breast cancer survivor …

