Frustration

Last night we drove the 3 hours to the city to stay in a hotel so I could get to my 8:00 am CT scan appointment. While this procedure was supposed to have been ordered by my Cardiologist there was no mention of it on the requisition. Since it appears my second aortic valve implant is being affected by a nearby aneurism, the cardio needs to decide if I can take the extra load that chemo will place on my heart. But as no record of the cardio on the order, nor a consultation with her was booked, we spent 6 total hours on the road and hotel costs for a 1 hour appointment for the CT that was performed less than 100 feet from her office.

Besides the surgery and the important prior check-up with the surgeon, we have had 3 single appointments that cost us a full day each for less than 10 minutes at each appointment:

Intake GP who hardly looked at me and scolded me for my “attitude.”

Consultation with Anesthesiologist who had very old records from my first surgery and ordered I see the head of surgical admitting to be sure they could admit me into intensive care if things “went wrong.”

Surgical admitting who made very light of bed availability, treated it as a joke.

It’s obvious to me no one considers that I am from a log way away or that my time and how I feel matter. They all talk about how “caring” the system is or how “complete” the coverage is. When I tell them this magical belief is not born out by reality, they refuse to listen or get mad.

For instance I’m now on two “critical care” lists that include direct lines to “help.” Both are only staffed 9 to 5 on week days and only take messages after putting on hold for up to an hour. Since no one phones back there’s no reason to leave a message so the back-up is the suggestion I see my local doctor or go to emergency. My doctor is a 5 week wait to see her and the hospital killed me last time I went there. In the magical land of medical belief, this isn’t the way things work so there’s nothing I can do–except display an “attitude.”

Probably now that I have their attention there will be another round of bullshit appointments over this and I’m done playing and will refuse to cooperate. This last surgery was very painful with all the clumsy needle work the anesthesiologist’s assistants did searching for arteries plus the pain in my incision frequently flares up but there’s no one to call so maybe I’ll just stop all this and take my chances.

Tomorrow I might hear the latest scheme. No more appointments or check-ups. Treat me or leave me alone.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • VanessaVaile  On August 1, 2014 at 12:17 AM

    Lordy, I would have kicked that intake GP in the shins. Hard. So next time just imagine me doing it.

    Education is not the only broken system

    Just reading this gives me a dose of attitude

    ________________________________

    • scottx5  On August 1, 2014 at 9:39 AM

      I’m starting to suspect that most systems are broken because the people within them believe they work. The whole purpose of having young people is to introduce non-believers into the system–but then the whole purpose of education is to convert them to believers:-)
      First thing to work on is the concept of distance. If I drive 3 hours to see someone I want some value added to the appointment. Being in the presence of an important person is not on my list of reasons for a visitation. I can’t help thinking that somehow my mother making me read science fiction as a kid was to prepare me for the off-planet attitude I’ve developed towards all these smaller planets I need to visit. Could also be the barbarian effect? Who was it who painted themselves blue before their visits to town?

Leave a Reply

Full Circle Associates

connections for a changing world, online and offline...

EdConteXts

International Network of Educators

BC Becky

Never thought I'd want to be identified as a breast cancer survivor …

E-Learning Provocateur

A blog by Ryan Tracey

Keep Learning

learn, teach, share

Little did I know...

Living is a wonderful learning adventure

Abstract Pencil

Another Open Education Blog

Reflecting Allowed

Maha Bali's blog about education

opendistanceteachingandlearning

Open distance teaching and learning

Arts Squared

A Virtual Square for the Faculty of Arts at the University of Alberta

CogDogBlog

Alan Levine Barks Here

online learning insights

A place for learning about open, online education

More or Less Bunk

"History is more or less bunk." - Henry Ford, 25 May 1916.

Tara Hunt

social media strategist. researcher. author. speaker.

eLearn Hub

Everything to do with online learning made simple

Learningcreep

A blog by Helen Crump: to take my learning forward.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

